American Society of Spine Radiology ASSR


The American Society of Spine Radiology was founded as a subspecialty society under the auspices of the American Society of Neuroradiology (ASNR).

The first organizational meeting took place during the ASNR annual meeting in May, 1993 at the Vancouver Trade and Convention Centre in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.

The original name of the organization was the Society of Spine Radiology, with a membership of 151 members. Dr. Jeffrey S. Ross served as President of the SSR in its first two years.

In 1995, the society was officially recognized by the ASNR, and the name of the society was changed to the American Society of Spine Radiology.

In the following year, 1996, the American Journal of Neuroradiology became the official journal of the ASSR.

The 1997 President and Program Chair, Dr. J. Randy Jinkins, organized the first ASSR Symposium in Cancun, Mexico. Dr. Jinkins also created The Myelon member newsletter.

A strategic plan was developed in 1998 by President, Dr. Alan L. Williams.

The ASSR has produced and supported educational programs and practicums on spine imaging and intervention that have strengthened the practice of spine radiology.

At the third ASSR Symposium, held in Marco Island, Florida in February, 2000, President Dr. M. Judith Donovan Post added a new feature: interventional spine workshops led by experienced instructors.

The fourth ASSR Symposium was also held in Marco Island in February 2001. Interactive workshops, organized by President Dr. Wade H.M. Wong, were again an important part of the program. President Dr. John M. Mathis organized the fifth ASSR Annual Symposium at The Atlantis Resort, on Paradise Island, Bahamas, in February 2002.

During that year, Dr. Mathis worked extensively on the development of standards of practice for various interventional spine procedures.

In addition, Past President Dr. Pierre C. Milette (Retired) obtained ASNR endorsement for a Nomenclature and Classification of Lumbar Disc Pathology , jointly created and proposed by an ASSR

Ad Hoc Nomenclature Committee and a Clinical Task Force of the North American Spine Society.

This spine nomenclature has since been endorsed by other American and European medical societies.

In 2002, President Dr. A. Orlando Ortiz worked with the ASSR Executive Committee to secure the societyís representation and involvement in the American College of Radiology, enabling two ASSR members to serve as representatives at the annual ACR meeting.

Under Dr. Ortiz, the ASSR began distributing grants and awards to young investigators.

The ASSR also made a large contribution and became an active participant in the Neuroradiology Education and Research Foundation.

The ASSR has grown to over 600 active US and international members from diverse clinical and scientific backgrounds in spine imaging and intervention.


800 Enterprise Drive
Suite 205
Oak Brook, Illinois 60523
United States

Get Directions

Upgrade Your Listing