Australasian Faculty of Musculoskeletal Medicine AFMM


The Australasian Faculty of Musculoskeletal Medicine was constituted in 1993, and formally incorporated in 1995, as a result of negotiations between the Australian Association of Musculoskeletal Medicine and the New Zealand Association of Musculoskeletal Medicine. The inception of formal postgraduate courses in musculoskeletal pain medicine in three Australasian universities (Otago, Flinders and Newcastle) led the two national associations to believe that a separate and independent body was required to develop and promulgate standards of practice in the discipline based on a responsible, academic analysis of the scientific literature.