Korean Society for Surgery of the Hand KSSH - KOA Sub-Specialty Society


The Korean Society for Surgery of the Hand (KSSH) was established on October 29, 1982 when 18 orthopedic surgeons and 7 plastic surgeons combined their efforts to promote developments in the practice of surgery of the hand.

Since its foundation, the society has been led by 13 presidents (Ed- this full list of names is unnecessary in such a publication and would be very tedious to read).

In the 22nd annual meeting held on November 19, 2003, the society was merged with the Korean Society of Hand Reconstructive Surgery without changing the society's name.

The combined society revised its bylaws and appointed the first chairman of the board of directors, Kim Poong-Taek (2003-2004), and the first director, Tak Kwan-Cheol (2003-2005). . Following the first academic conference held on April 1, 1983, the society held its 22nd conference in 2003 at the auditorium of the Clinical Research Center in Seoul National University Hospital.

The society holds a joint annual symposium with the Korean Microsurgical Society every Spring and publishes a book on the symposium contents.

The membership base has grown to 695 (545 plastic surgeons, 148 orthopedic surgeons and 1 general surgeon), from 46 at the time of establishment.

The society joined the International Federation of Societies for Surgery of the Hand (IFSSH) and the Asian Pacific Federation of Societies for Surgery of the Hand (APFSSH).

The journal of KSSH has been published biannually since 1996.


Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, Yonsei Universi
134 Shinchon-dong
Seodaemun-gu, Seoul - Special City 120-752
Korea South

82, Gumi-ro 173 Beon-gil, Bundang-gu, Seongnam-si, Gyeonggi-do, 13620, Rap. of KOREA / Tel +82-31-787-2034

Get Directions

Upgrade Your Listing