New Zealand Pain Society NZPS


History of the NZPS

The New Zealand Pain Society (NZPS) was born out of the efforts of a passionate and committed group of New Zealand clinicians.

1978 – The Australasian Pain Society held their first conference at La Trobe University and Royal Southern Memorial Hospital, on the 1st December, 1978. Following this Meeting it was decided to form the NZPS as a chapter of the International Association for the Study of Pain (IASP).

1983 – On the 16th April 1983, 60 members attended the first meeting of the NZPS, in Wellington. Not long after this, in July, the NZPS became a chapter of the IASP.

1984- The first meeting of the NZPS chapter of the IASP occurred on the 3rd September, in Seattle

Today the NZPS has approximately 700 members from a variety of specialities including:

  • Doctors (anesthesia, palliative care, rehabilitation medicine, musculo-skeletal medicine, psychiatry, neurosurgery)
  • Nurses (specialist pain management nurses and others from different specialty areas)
  • Physiotherapists
  • Psychologists
  • Dentists
  • Social workers
  • Occupational therapists
  • Osteopaths
  • Pain researchers
  • Others with a special interest in pain. 

The NZPS promotes education, training, research and development in all areas of pain.


PO Box 6087
NZPS Secretary
Invercargill, South Island 9841
New Zealand

Get Directions

Upgrade Your Listing