Trichur Orthopaedic Society TOS


The idea of having a regular get together of the practicing Orthopaedic surgeons of Trichur, as a platform to discuss about the interesting cases they encounter, did arise in mid 80s. That paved way to the formation of Trichur Orthopaedic Club, the initial form of Trichur Orthopaedic Society. The Society had a humble beginning in 1984, with a handful of orthopods meeting at IMA Hall every month. Late Prof. P.K. Surendran was the founder President and Dr. V.I.Simon founder Secretary. It is to the credit of the first secretary, that he kept the interest from dwindling, by sending intimations in his own hand writing and coaxing all the juniors to attend the monthly meetings. Efforts of Dr.N.J.Mani and Dr. Sunny Pazhayattil who were then at Medical College Trichur, like bringing patients who were admitted in the hospital, for discussion, did give an impetus in the initial days of the club. In the 1989, Prof. N.J Mani became the President, Dr Mathew Abraham, Secretary and Dr. V.I.Simon Treasurer. When Prof. Mani was transferred to Calicut, Dr.K.S.Pillai became the President and when Dr. Mathew Abraham left for UK, Dr.C.N.Raman took over as secretary. In 1996 Dr.Raman was elected as the Treasurer of KOA. He then relinquished the post of Secretary and Dr.Sreenath K.R. became the Secretary. In 1998 Prof Sunny Pazayattil took over as the president. It was during this period, Trichur Orthopaedic Club was transformed to a more formal set up like having definite protocols for the meeting. In 2001 Dr. V.I.Simon became the President and Dr.Jacob P.J., Treasurer. In 2004, the name was changed to Trichur Orthopaedic Society.In 2005, Dr C,N,Raman became the President and Dr Rammohan K.P. the Secretary . In 2006 Society got registered under the societies act, thanks to the effort of Dr.Rammohan the then Secretary. In 2007, Dr.Francis Chandy took over as the President. In 2010 the present office bearers, Dr Dominic Puthoor, President: Dr.Jacob P J , secretary and Dr.Jim F.Vellara Treasurer assumed office. Trichur Orthopaedic Society had its moments of pride as it was adjudged the best district chapter of KOA in the years 1998, 1999, 2009 and 2011.


The Kerala Ortho House, Eastland Enclave, Block II
Kochi, Kerala 682020

Get Directions

Upgrade Your Listing

Bookmark this